How much

Got a technical query? Found another 0.02bhp? Ask/tell the world.

Moderators: Gromit, Paul, slparry

Al

How much

Postby Al » Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:03 pm

Just been quoted £320 for a 24k service.
1) is this excessive?.
2)I have never had a bike serviced at a dealers before, the bike is six and a half years old and has a full history. I intend to keep it for a while, so will keeping the stamps up to date make that much difference to the vaue in a couple of years time.
3)How hard is it to service at home? ( I have been fixing Aircraft, helicopters, cars etc for the past 30 years) been reading the schedule not sure about the fault memory thingy or the cylinder synch process on fuel injection( used a carbtune on jap fours). It is not immediately obvious after a quick look how you drain/fill the rear wheel drive oil , plus what is the inductive sensor.
4) do you need BMW special tools.

BMW repair manual CD is in the post from ebay but I would appreciate the opinions and advice from the more experienced S owners I know frequent this forum
White/red BMW R1200R Sport
Shiny Red Honda Civic
Shiny Silver MR2 vvti Roadster. Going to be sold
White Peugeot Boxer Camper Conversion.
Battle scarred Suzuki Burgman 125,(Mrs Als) going to be sold
Suzuki VanVan 125

Boxadog 2000

Postby Boxadog 2000 » Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:29 pm

1) Excessive ? dont really know I never paid more than £250, I have just paid £207.00 for a 6000 service on my GS1200 which included the anual check.

2) Dont really think FSH on a bike that is 6 years old really matters .

3) If you have been fixing Helecopters then you can service the 1100s or even rebuild the whole dam thing blinfolded its a piece of cake.
The fault memory can only be read by a BMW dealer if the bike runs ok forget it or go get the memory read for about a tenner for piece of minds sake.
Cylinder sinc or to be correct throttle body ballance again is easy, made more easy with a Twinmax ballancer for about £50.